top of page
  • hoosdiverseuva

Student Spotlight: Bree Doby

Name: Bree Doby

Year: Fifth year

Major: Undergraduate: B.A. in Psychology and B.A. in African American & African Studies; Graduate: M.S. in Commerce on Marketing and Management track

Hometown: Chesapeake, Virginia

Why you chose UVA: I decided to come to UVA because it felt like home! I toured many other colleges, especially out-of-state, and I landed on UVA because it was the perfect distance from family that would allow me to grow on my own, but also to always have a support system nearby.


Involvements at UVA: At UVA I have been heavily involved with our Housing and Residence Life program, serving as a Resident Advisor, Senior Resident, Chair of the Committee on Multiculturalism, and now as the Vice Chair of Community Development and Residential Inclusion. Outside of Housing and Residence Life I have been involved with the Psych Society and March of Dimes.


What is something you wish you had known during the college application/decision process? Something I wish I had known during the college application process is that the goal isn’t to apply to as many schools as possible or to get into as many schools as possible. At the end of the day, I was really only interested in 3 schools, so while having a backup or two is important, really hone in on the applications for the schools you’re the most interested in and do your best on those applications.


How would you describe your experience at UVA?

My experience at UVA has been amazing, to say the least. I’m really grateful that I had such an amazing Resident Advisor my first-year that helped me to quickly get acclimated to college life. I have also realized and experienced first-hand how much the people you are surrounded with make an impact on your experience. I joined clubs and organizations I was passionate about, which allowed me to meet similarly-driven people. The sports are also a huge plus in realizing the school spirit that UVA students have for this place.


Thoughts and feelings about diversity at UVA:

Honestly, UVA isn’t going to be the most diverse school out there, but there are so many clubs, friend groups, and opportunities for you to find your people. For me, I found my people and a lot of diversity within Housing and Residence Life, but we also have clubs, fraternities and sororities, and other places to meet people that share an identity with you.


Advice for incoming students:

My biggest advice for incoming students is to explore as much as you can—whether that be making an effort to join clubs, befriend classmates and professors, or even explore what weekends in Charlottesville and the Corner are like. I have met so many lifelong friends in places I didn’t expect because of it!

 

Iman Cherkaoui

Batten School of Public Policy and Leadership & College of Arts and Sciences, Class of 2024

bottom of page