top of page
  • Elisabeth Bass

A Day in the Life: April 21, 2022

Updated: Sep 16, 2023

by Elisabeth Bass, Class of 2025


9AM: I woke up. I got to sleep in because my first class isn’t until 5PM which is so nice, but it also means I have to make sure I get a lot of work done before then. I get ready and then head to the best dining hall on Grounds that is also right next to my dorm: Runk. For breakfast, I always go to the entrée station to get pancakes and bacon.

10AM: After breakfast, I head to Central Grounds to study. Brown Library is my favorite one to go to in Clark Hall, but if the weather is nice outside, I study in the amphitheater. I get settled and work for a little bit on some papers that I have to write and started studying for finals. Brown Library is nice because there is a quiet section and a not-quiet section. So, if you are like me and need noise to work, then this library is perfect.

1PM: I headed over to Newcomb Hall to eat lunch. Newcomb is the absolute best because Ms. Kathy works there, and she is an icon among us students. She is the one who makes sure everyone swipes into the dining hall, but also is always going to give you a compliment. She of course brightened my day and then I got lunch. I try hard not to do any work during lunch and just take a break, which is what I did.

1:45PM: After lunch, I head to the LGBTQ+ Center, also in Newcomb Hall, to work some more until my class starts. Late April tends to be crazy in college because classes are wrapping up and finals are around the corner.

5PM: I walked over to New Cabell Hall for my class on Reproductive Justice. I loved this class because it explored so many different topics and I learned so much new information. It has a truly intersectional approach to the issues that women and people who can reproduce face.

6:15PM: After my class was over, I met up with one of my friends to grab a quick dinner before we headed to Probie Class.

7PM: I had Probie Class, which is from 7-10 PM every Thursday night for the University Guide Service. This is by far my favorite organization on Grounds because it gives students the opportunity to give admissions tours and historical tours, so each student can truly put their own spin on it. Sometimes, the classes can be difficult because we cover a lot of hard history, but it is still a great club to be a part of. You only have to do Probie Class your first semester in the Guide Service.

10PM: After class, we all have big guiding. This is when we meet with some older guides for an hour and work on tours, but also hang out. This was our last probie class and big guiding session. It was so sentimental and partially sad as we said our goodbyes to our big guides. However, probie semester was such an incredible experience.

11:30PM: After big guiding wrapped up, my friend and I walked home to our dorm. It is about a 25-minute walk from the Lawn back to Dillard, so it gives us a lot of time to chat and catch up.

12AM: Thursdays are late nights, so I get ready for bed as soon as I get back and fall asleep. The nice thing is that I did not have a Friday class, so I can sleep in!

 

Elisabeth Bass

College of Arts and Sciences, Class of 2025

Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies


bottom of page